Disappearing Running Gear – Running Shoes

ProKeds – my first running shoe

Times have changed since my first run, as a child,  or even my first marathon.  When I started running, I ran in canvass basketball shoes, cotton gym shorts and Tshirt, which seemed great at the time. Today we have technical fabrics, but even those have changed over the years.

Currently, my running gear is fairly simple. I  run in race shirts (men’s), men’s compression shorts, compression socks, a generic cap, and Adidas Supernova Sequence 9 running shoes.

As recent as 5 years ago, I used to run in specialized hats, socks and shoes,  but some of my favorites no longer exist. For example, running shoes have changed so much that I have gone from one brand, New Balance to another brand, Adidas.  Running-gear has evolved from strikingly ultra-technical fabric gear with cutting edge fabrics (polypropylene, Gore-Tex, X-static), to basic fabrics from  Running Store (Nylon, Spandex, Polyester, Bamboo).

I like the current running gear but I feel we are doing more with less. None of my current running gear resembles what I started with, and it’s both a blessing and a curse. Let’s look at my running shoes as an example.

 

Running Shoes:

Current
Last
Shoe before last

 

 

 

 

 

 

The shoes on the left are my latest. They are Adidas Supernova Sequence 9 (now discontinued and are replaced by Supernova ST), which happens to be a men’s size. Normally, I buy a women’s size, but this was the only one available. On my Roadrunner Sports site, they have cushioning level 4, which I prefer. I know I would want more cushioning, but I am not willing to change brand at the moment. I may try other shoes soon because the midsoles on most of the Adidas are very thin. I need more cushion and support on my midsoles.

They are 1/2 size smaller than my usual size but I am good with the way they fit. My shoes seem to be very rigid and less cushioned than my last two pairs. But they will have to work. I realized from reading some of the comments that I have been putting up with my heel slipping out of the back and shoes that need to be larger in the toe box. These shoes hug my heel but could use more room in the toe and more cushioning there as well.

The shoes in the middle were my former pair. It is a Sequence 8 version, and the far right is a Sequence 7. Both of these shoes had different construction, but one thing they both had in common is that they were very cushioned and had great support.

These shoes are easy to walk in, break in easily, but they begin to feel flat in about 6 months, or if I run a few races or a long distance race like a half marathon.

Why are shoe upgrades bad for runners?

Shoes are essential for running comfort. There are some shoes that are very uncomfortable for one person but are comfortable for others. The minimalist running shoes are very uncomfortable for me to run in. Other people swear by them. My feet are very sensitive and need to feel cushioning bounce when I run not a heavy inflexible bottom. I believe that many shoes are not made for the general running public.

Many more people are running half and full marathons today than ever before. They need more from their shoes than they are getting. There is no more emphasis on running with orthotics or insoles, type of pronation while running or weight. Most of this has a positive effect on my running, but here is my perception of what can happen when shoes don’t feel comfortable.

The new shoes seem to be constructed differently than past running shoes. They vary in fit. When you buy running shoes:

  • The heel can be loose or too tight on the new shoe
  • The toe box can be too large or too small
  • The cushioning could change and be too stiff or inadequate
  • The sizing will inevitably run differently
  • The wear will feel different, and maybe not as desirable
  • The material on the outside of the shoe, may not be strong enough to last, for the life of the shoe

One or more of these issues has been my complaint when searching for running shoes with comfort and integrity. I have always been that runner, who was over 150 lbs. With that said, I have always wondered why so many people get plantar’s fasciitis. I think there is a link between common running problems and running shoes.

Back in 2000, the emphasis was on “heavy” runners vs “light” runners. My take on that was someone who ran heavy-footed or just was over 150 lbs. I have rarely had a shoe that could feel comfortable and cushioned. Back then I wore well cushioned shoes that did not work with my training schedule for longer races and training distances.

Today’s shoes will hold up better to the pounding, but when they go south, you feel it in your knees and feet. I may have to change brands to find my running bliss.

So my take away from this is to be very careful to make sure that your running shoe is what you need. If you run as much as I do, you will be spending many days in them.

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.