Star Wars Virtual Half, Darkside Half and the Expo

It’s two days later and my perspective has changed a little. I realized that many things that happened both pre and post race were kind of a blur, but I have a moment of clarity. I feel like I need a loud speaker to echo that point. I just caught my breath after realizing that I flew to Florida after my spotty winter running of my Virtual Half Marathon, went to an Expo to pick up racing stuff, played in a few theme parks, and woke up at the crack of dawn to run a race. Spoiler Alert: I finished!

But I rewind a little to my VIrtual Half Marathon. I signed up on a lark, I thought my running days were gone. But they were alive and well.

I ran in the Park on days that it was not icy or too cold. It was a healing experience being out in the trees and fresh air. I ran my distance over a few days and logged my time with RunDisney. then the journey began.

I had so many feelings on the way to Florida, as the year before I did complete my race then I passed out at the end. Then we deplaned and met our transferto Walt Disney World.

Here’s the deal with Disney’s Magical Express. It’s a great service that takes you from the Airport to the Hotel. I love the way the Cast Members greet us at the airport. They take the edge off getting to the hotel. I never worry about getting to the hotel.

We stayed at the Boardwalk Inn near Epcot. I love the Epcot Hotels. They are near my favorite Theme Park.

Now onward to the cool stuff, the expo and the swag. I love the expo. There are runners, Dooney & Bourke bags, great scenery and photo ops and then there is the merch. Now I have not forgotten the number pickup and the t-shirts, but those areas took only minimal time. I spent my time at the Health & Fitness Expo and the Merch area. It was exciting to see the Star Wars centric items, fun t-shirts and Star Wars popcorn holder, and Imperial beer. they should have called it Toshe Station.

Imperial wall at the Merchandise Area

On to the race.

Race day was very intense. The Weather Channel said it was going to thunder and lightning, rain, flood fire brimstone…just a normal day in the Spring in Florida. It was very humid. There was no sight of the rain, but ti was over cast therefore the sun would not kill me like last year. The temperature was cool and it stayed that way through most of the race.

The course comprised of  mostly parking lots, pack roads of Disney parks and highways. The highlights were going through Animal Kingdom, Hollywood Studios, and Epcot and seeing the characters as we ran by. I do not do character stops, as most of my life is comprised of being very close to many of them.

We saw quite a few Disney Star Wars Characters, as well as 501st and Rebel Legion troopers. SPECIAL SHOUT OUT TO THE 501st Florida Garrison and Rebel Legion Ra Kura Base for trooping again this year.

Animal Kingdom
Hollywood Studios
Epcot

 

 

 

 

 

We had a wild time on the course and saw some of the best running costumes ever. The most seen costumes on the course were Phasma. Porgs and hundreds of variation of Rey. As we come in closer to Mile 12 we tried to push on, but everyone was fatigued. we looked awful, but we had to smile for the photographers. I loved the pictures we got.  the race was more of an endurance feat than usual, as we couldn’t train as much as we wanted to in the snowy land of New York. Excuses aside. we were successful at dodged the “balloon ladies” and avoiding the “Parade bus”, better know as the sweeps bus.

The balloon ladies are the last pacers in the race that start after everyone. If you are in a later starting corral, or you are slower than a 16 minute mile, you need to avoid them to stay in the race. Here is an article on them from a fellow runner ( Dodging the Balloon Ladies – Don’t Get Swept, https://www.darksidechallenger.com/dodging-the-balloon-ladies.html). My husband is obsessed with them. I suspect he wants to cosplay them. Could be fun, but I’ll skip it. I know they are lovely ladies, but I never want to meet them during a race.

Now that Spring is here, I will continue my training. Next goal. 50 lbs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.