Running in Bad Weather

on

So far, this spring has not been spring in the Northeast. It has been cold, damp and rainy for most days, with a few warm spring days to tease me.

Lightning strike in a dark blue sky.jpg.838x0_q67_crop-smart
http://www.safebee.com 838 × 556Search by image Lightning strike in a dark blue sky

Most runners seem to love running in the rain. I’m not one of them. I guess I never saw the point of it. I have rain gear and snow cleats and weather proof socks and waterproof jackets and pants. I am prepared, but it is never as productive as a fair weather day. Though rain, snow and windy days are not that serious a threat, other forms of weather can be.

I keep seeing this quote by Bill Bowerman, “There is no such thing as bad weather, just soft people.”1

I do not agree!

Sadly, this quote does not leave space for people to use their common sense when it come to doing something that is supposed to be both beneficial and fun.

Yes, you do get your daily run in and you seem badass to any “wimpy runners”, but the enjoyment is not there (or at least not for me). I guess you get a sense of satisfaction, but I simply do not understand.

Even worse, there are those runners, who seem to have a death wish. Or maybe it’s poor judgement. I have met quite a few of them. The few, the crazy, the inclement weather runner.

Yes, you can use rain gear for the rain, and cleats and other winter gear for the snow, but extreme weather is not the time for recreation. That is not being soft, it’s being smart.

My motto is “live to run another day!”

I know it’s just my opinion, but I believe it has kept me alive and injury free for years.  Most people do not run in bad weather. For example, running during a lightning storm.

I hate treadmills like many people do, but I hate being fried by many watts of electricity or worse dying. There are runners, who run during thunderstorms.

The NWS says, “there have been 6 people killed by lightening this year already,(http://www.lightningsafety.noaa.gov/fatalities.shtml). Lightning can strike from 10 miles away, so if people can hear thunder, they are in danger of being struck by lightning.2 Lightning needs to be taken seriously. No one needs to be injured just to get a run in. I’m sure someone will still go running during a lightning storm and they may be lucky, but everyone is not. Hence the statistics.

Other severe weather events can be just as dangerous. blizzards, high winds, hail, and threat of tornados can turn into disasters even for the seasoned runner.

I have seen it all. There were people running during hurricane Sandy, where a runner was killed by a tree branch just outside of the Park. Good common sense? No. No common sense.

Running during a hail storm is not a good choice.  I’m not sure why anyone would do this unless they got caught in the storm and needed to get to shelter, because it came on too suddenly. Hail is painful just like some snow storms with large ice crystals and high winds.

Yes, this has been a particularly long and boring rant, but to me, safety, comfort and enjoyment while running is more important than being extreme. Your running partner should understand and your gear can wait for a better day when the weather is moderately bad, i.e. rain, snow, or a breezy day.

Don’t take my word for it…no problem read a few more varying opinions. Keep on running.

Notes:
1.Best Motivational Running Quotes of All Time, (Quote-There’s no such thing as bad weather, just soft people.” -Bill Bowerman),http://www.iloverunningmagazine.com/best-motivational-running-quotes-of-all-time/

2. NOAA study finds fishing tops U.S. lightning death activities, http://www.noaanews.noaa.gov/stories2013/20130624_lightningsafety.html

3. Bad weather shouldn’t stop you from running : running – Reddithttps://www.reddit.com/r/running/…/bad_weather_shouldnt_stop_you_from_running/

4. 8 Reasons to Keep Running in Bad Weather – The Clymbwww.theclymb.com/stories/out-there/8-reasons-to-keep-running-in-badweather/

http://www.xterrafitness.com/blog/tips-running-bad-weather/

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Mind Margins says:

    I don’t mind a gentle rain in the summer–in our TX heat it can be refreshing–but I’m with you on the rest, especially lightning. We once had sleet on a cold, rainy, wintery 17 miler. Sleet hurts! And once while running in the city the tornado sirens started blasting. That was somewhat surreal.

    1. adriadc says:

      I know what you mean. I out ran a wind storm, just getting in before it started, so tornadoes are out.

Leave a Reply

