Finally found – Brooklyn’s New Year’s Eve 5k

After a long arduous search, I am happy to report, that I will not have to go to Manhattan to run this New Year’s Eve. Not that I hate Manhattan. I like it.

I do not like the way things have been going for the last couple of weeks. Police killing people, demonstrations and people killing Police. These are not things I want to be involved with, as my weeks are difficult enough.

I work long hours and I need a lovely and calm outlet for New Year’s Eve. Here is what I’m thinking about. I saw this on the Prospect Park Alliance website:

New Year’s Eve at Prospect Park’s Grand Army Plaza (Union St. between Flatbush Avenue and Prospect Park West in Park Slope, www.prospectpark.org), 11 pm. Free.

For the fitness fanatic


Get a head start on that New Year’s resolution to exercise more with a midnight fun run. The Brooklyn Road Runners hosts its only nighttime race in Prospect Park on New Year’s Eve, and runners and walkers of all stripes are welcome to attend (festive wear is encouraged, too). Reward yourself with a cup of hot chocolate when you are done, and stick around for the fireworks.

“New Year’s Eve 5K Run” at Prospect Park (Prospect Park West and Ninth Street in Park Slope, www.prospectpark.org). 11:15 pm. $40, or $30 in advance.

Here is the registration for the run: http://www.active.com/brooklyn-ny/running/distance-running-races/new-years-eve-run-prospect-park-2014

I am so going to this! (Weather permitting, as New Year’s Eve can be icy and freezing or not)

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kevin says:

    Great way to start off the year. Going for a run is my go to event on New Years when everyone else is sleeping in

Leave a Reply

