Missed My Race. But It’s Not Over Yet!

running feetSadly I had to cancel my TCS NYC marathon entry. Sunday, I was anxiously watching the professional women run past mile 17 and feeling lost. It must feel great (but cold) to be out there. I know I would be freezing waiting for the start, as I was in Wave 3. I was disheartened to find out that they only showed Wave 1 & 2 starts. So to me, this means that I would never be shown like my husband was a few years back. He was in Wave 2 in the front. In classic form, he shrank back from the cameras when they did the start. I’m not sure why he did that but we saw him as he started his run.

Show all of the Wave of runners #tcsnycmarathon! We paid an entry fee!

That was a great race for me as I got to see him run through out the race. I loved the coverage that they had then, but this year’s coverage was mostly focused on the elites and celebrity runners. I just do not believe that some of the coverage could not have been diverted to interview some regular runners. OK, we’re not glamorous, but we are the point of the race. The 50,000 (celebrities included) are the race and the story. Maybe next year they will have better coverage.

Anyway, I enjoyed watching what was covered with the TCS NYC Marathon. I missed running it. My knee injury was more than I could handle, but my story is not over. Every time I have run this marathon, it felt like it was a long, exciting journey. It really thrills me to be running in NYC. The energy is unmatched. Though the crowds were light in some places this year (I never think they got over the Sandy cancellation), I felt it was a good crowd and everyone seemed to get through just fine (91% finished). The finishers looked happy in their blue Mylar lined ponchos. I guess I will have to wait till next year to get one.

A new story begins next week. I get to run a half marathon, the Walt Disney World Wine & Dine Half marathon. I’m hoping that my knee will hold out so I can attend the party until 4am on the next day. I am going to use KT tape my knee, like I did the last time I ran it.I want to stay out as long as I can that night.

You gotta work that Disney Park pass.

Besides the food and cast members are some of the reasons why I’m race there. I eat, play, ride the rides and then I run it all off. The race is at night so it goes with my running habits during the winter.

I will need to get my caffeine on to keep up with the Disney fun and run well. I love their races because they have so many things along the way to distract you from the pain. Last year’s race was fabulous, so I made it to corral B for the 10K this year. It does not really matter to me anymore, but I love to do well when I run and this year was not a great running year. Injuries aside, I am going to run and enjoy my race. Stay tuned!

I will start planning for next year now, (ouch) so maybe I will ready to do my Marathon.

Like they said this year,”I’m gonna get my New York on!” But for now, “I’m gonna get my Disney on!”

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. See you at W&D! Best way to get over a race is to run another one 🙂

    1. adriadc says:

      So cool that you are running that too. Good luck! I am feeling very magical today. 🙂

  2. adriadc says:

    Reblogged this on The Way I Run My Life and commented:

    Just reminiscing on 2014. I missed my Marathon this year too, but I did not cancel. I’m thinking I may be done with full marathons unless the marathon bug bites me again.
    Funny thing, Disney this year was drama also. Some things don’t change year to year. But one thing stays the same…I run.

Leave a Reply

