Again with the Running Shoes!

I am on the rampage again…

I am calling out the Running shoe companies of America (or mostly made in China). I had to get another pair of running shoes and I wanted to do it locally instead of going into Manhattan. This meant that I could not get Adidas shoes. For some reason, most running shoes shops do not carry more than a couple of them or not at all.

So I went into a store in Brooklyn (actually a few stores) and they did not have anything close to what I needed with Adidas shoes, so I tried on other shoes just to see how they felt. It seems that all of the running shoes are made for people, who could  run in anything. Very few shoes have cushioning,  because this is perceived to make the shoes heavy. Wrongfully, I was under them impression that running with comfort was key.

Well, I settled on the New Balance 860. These lasted for about 3 weeks under 30 mile a week conditions, before my knees started to get angry at me. Come to find out that this is not a current New Balance shoe, but it was a stability shoe, which meant it should have lasted longer with me. Shame on me for buying an outdated shoe, because there is no way of returning it.

FullSizeRender
NB 860WB4

When I was coming back from a race in LA, I was speaking to two women who shared a ride with us. We were talking about our shoes. They used shoes that I could never use, because they were very lightly constructed. to them being light was more important. I was very confused since we all ran multiple races. This got me  thinking. They were younger, faster, lighter and did not have many injuries, so maybe it’s a new trend. Have running shoes advanced since my last purchase. My favorite online running store Road Runner Sports has diminished the Adidas line of shoes that they carried, in the past years. I am now stuck with buying them at the Adidas store in Manhattan since I need to try them on each time.

I did Buy a pair of Adidas Supernova Glide boost 6, but they lasted 3 months under 30 mile a week conditions. I bought these shoes specifically, since I had success with the Supernova Glide 5 series, which lasted about a year. But as we know, the shoes were changed when they went to the Glide boost series. I am not sure what changed, but I needed a change.

Adidas Sup 5
Adidas Supernova Glide 5

This is when I finally bought my new shoes, the Adidas Supernova Sequence 7 series. These are stability shoes, which felt fabulous when I run on the road and they are light. The ride was so smooth and I did not feel the pavement under my feet in a shocking way like I have in the past. This makes me very happy. Actually, this makes my knees happy. The older you get the more you care about your knees.  I a still testing this fairly new shoe but I think it’s a winner. I can tell from the way I run with them. It’s very effortless.

IMG_3360
Adidas Supernova Sequence 7

In the end, I think it worked out, but my worry is that the running shoe companies will stop making running shoes for people like me. Specifically, I am female, over 50, over 150 lbs, years of running wear and tear on my body, and I wear inserts (orthotics) and need a good deal of cushioning, and stability. The lighter and more un-sturdier (not a word but it describes most shoes) the shoe the more likely I will wreck them in less than a month. This is too expensive for my blood.

And so my quest continues…

Leave a Reply

