Recovering Badly – Love that KT

Ugh! I am getting old. I never wanted to get old, but the alternative is not preferable either.

Yes, it seems that everyone in the world has tried this method except me so I thought I’d take the plunge.

While preparing to run my last race, I had my self taped with KT tape. I had heard and seen the tape before and when I got it done many people decided to ask me about it.  At the Running Expo in Disneyland, we encountered the people taping up runners with KT tape.  If you bought a roll of KT tape, they would tape you up for free. I decided to buy some KT tape and take the plunge.

For you who may not have seen this tape, here is a brief description below. Everyone else can skip to the scary pictures.

KT Tape (Kinesiology Tape) has been worn by elite athletes in a few Olympics and other high profile races. I knew that this tape was easy to run in, but I wondered about the durability.  Here is how my application of  it went this last week.

photo 2-11 photo 1-10I used to run with a light knee brace occasionally, but it chaffed and was uncomfortable. Lately I needed support so I tried the tape. Walking around with it on day one was difficult but I got used to it quickly. I got it in a sonic blue (a color that stood out but sort of matched one of my singlets).

From the website: “What is KT Tape? KT Tape is an elastic sports and fitness tape designed for muscle, ligament and tendon pain relief and support.” They applied the KT Tape PRO product on my left knee and foot. You first apply the alcohol solution to your skin to take away the oil. Then the adhesive was applied to make the tape stick more efficiently and stay in place longer. The person who placed the tape was one of the Demonstration people who knew about running injuries. They have a tutorial on the website on how to place the tape to help with each issue

The colors are winner green, sonic blue, laser blue, jet black, hero pink, stealth beige, solar yellow, blaze orange, epic purple and rage red. I don’t mean to sound like a a commercial (I am not a fan of many commercials), but I was amazed at how well it worked and it seem so minimal and non invasive to my running. But wait there’s more! (I couldn’t resist)

Here is the instructions for knees, which can be found on the website or on YouTube.

After running in the knee and ankle KT Tape configurations, I felt almost normal and quite pain free. It stayed on after a few showers and dried quickly. One note of caution, if you tape your feet you will need to wear a sock to sleep to keep the tape from peeling off. I believe it helped me in some way do my two days of races without incident. Despite many people not believing I had a difficult time in those races, it was bearable because of the KT tape.

Though I still had a long recovery, there were NO injuries. Hallelujah!

I will recover and tomorrow (if I can), I will train.

Leave a Reply

