Training sick

funny-pictures-interesting-cat

 

 

 

 

Training with a cold has been challenging. It seems as if there are so many issues that arrive when I start training for a big race. I realize my first big challenge is less than 1 month away so I will have to train very hard to make my goal.

My first race is on the end of August. I have a 10K and then a 1/2 Marathon.

Sometimes it scares me to think that I cannot run a particular race. I have not run in a week due to a very bad cold. During my last run I ran 3 miles and on my way to 4 miles, I felt to dizzy that I almost ran into a tree. For some reason I was running sideways. This is not good when you are on a looped course in the Park. Trees are not something you want to run into while doing anything, including climbing trees. Needless to say, I had to walk for about a mile to finish my distance. I was totally disoriented. I tried taking in water, but that did not make me feel any better. I ate food and it did make me feel a title better but I started to get a sore throat.

After that, a day later the fever came and the congestion in my nose and head. This was the day I went to the gym instead of running. I felt good enough to exercise. However the next few days the fury of the cold took over and now I am coughing and I’m extremely tired. I’m going to go to bed early so that I may get some rest. I have not been able to sleep properly as well as usual. I think that is one other thing that will stop me from training lack of sleep when I feel bad is reason for me to just get more sleep.

My training has started so my phone keeps reminding me of my 4 and 5 mile runs that I am missing and I keep thinking about my gym membership. Also, I should mention the many speed workouts that I will have to make up since this is what I should be doing right now. This is too much for my brain to wrap around.

Now that you are probably asleep reading this whole discourse on my cold, I want to make a positive spin and point out that I had a lot of rest and relaxation. Even as I speak, I am planning to make a month into some serious training. I think I can!

But for now I rest.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. WalkToRio says:

    Hope you get to recover soon!

    1. adriadc says:

      Me too. I am feeling better today, so the journey will continue tomorrow. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

