Pain Management

pain1My external pain medication has arrived. I am not sure why I have it but I do. My knee hurts but I figured I would just get pain pills or Tylenol would be the drug of choice. This time it looks like this will be a topical solution. I am not sure how it works but I am hoping it does do something.

Not for nothing, some pain medications have no effect on me. I am not sure why, but it has been this way for quite some time.

I already have many topical pain solutions. My Doctor, who is an orthopedic medicine practitioner, is administering a treatment that should be painless. Therefore I am not sure why he ordered the pain medication unless he knew that this journey would have some pain. The EPAT machine is generally painless, but I guess as it happens and I train, there will be more pain.

This whole process was made more difficult in that, I dislike to go to any doctors. I am into natural medicine and holistic remedies. Doctors give me the “heebee jeebies. ” I think it was because of the many experiences that I had when I was young and medicine was not as user-friendly. People have changed but the old memories linger.

Some of them include alternative medicine options. I go to a chiropractor, and I am thinking about getting acupuncture too. But, I feel strongly about using too many pain medications.

In the picture above, I use all of these for pain management. Some of them are not your standard solutions but all of them work to help me keep running and training. Though my doctor bills are not cheap, the results are what keep me going back.

The orthopedist will be able to reset my aging joints to  good point where I can run. The joints do take a lot of wear and tear from 15 – 20 years of training. Even with the breaks that I took, It is still difficult to stay at the same level. But giving up running is not an option, so I go to the doctor.

One thing I do for myself, is yoga. Runners need to do yoga so they can stretch and strengthen themselves. Just like strength training, it is important for stability and strength of the joints. My hope is that I will be able to keep up this intense schedule and live my life.

In a few days, I will return to the Doctor to get my second treatment of the EPAT machine. I cannot wait until it has passed to see if it starts working.

28 Comments Add yours

  1. Mind Margins says:

    I’m not averse to medicine, but definitely prefer taking the “natural” route when feasible. The hardest thing about going through chemo has been the after effects of these very strong drugs and feeling literally poisoned. I’m looking forward to a nice, long medicine-free purge when this is all over. So sorry to hear about your knee.

    1. adriadc says:

      I cannot imagine chemo treatments but I know it must not be pleasant. I wish the very best and quickest way back to health and normalcy for you. Hang in there.

  2. Pingback: My Homepage
  3. Magnificent submit, very informative. I ponder why the other experts of this sector don’t understand this. You should proceed your writing. I am confident, you have a great readers’ base already!|What’s Going down i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It positively helpful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to contribute & help different users like its helped me. Good job.

    1. adriadc says:

      Thanks. I look forward to your contributions.

  4. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?
    My website goes over a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we
    could greatly benefit from each other. If you might be interested feel free to send me
    an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you!

    Wonderful blog by the way!

  5. Pingback: teton backpacks
  6. Pingback: Adipex
  7. Since we are on the topic of pinging, this is yet another reason given by WordPress
    users of why they prefer this blogging platform. You want to sell yourself,
    not to degrade yourself. This method is considered one of the
    fastest ways to get your blog indexed by Yahoo.

  8. Pingback: website
  9. Pingback: Cakes
  10. Pingback: Feathers
  11. Pingback: More on E cigs
  12. Pingback: Fountain Products
  13. Pingback: Solar Panels

Leave a Reply

