Hydration

English: New York water sampling station for d...
English: New York water sampling station for drinking water quality. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The other day, when I went to get my hair done, as many women do, I had an interesting conversation about drinking water and the state of our drinking water. My friends  and stylists, Meira, Anna and the business owner Peter were concerned about how to eat and drink cleanly. Hey what else do you do when you get your hair done. I have to get my hair done, it’s a train wreck. Today Meira worked her magic. I look awesome, but I digress.

It is a popular topic now, but as an athlete, I need to focus on the one thing I need for hydration, water.

Sports drinks make me queasy. So in all races for the most part I drink water.

Peter is very into health and beauty. In the past few years I noticed that he changed his diet to become a vegan. Also, he makes sure that his food and water are very clean and chemical free. Now, most of you know people who are on both side of the GMO discussion. Frankly, I want to stay away from them, but I must eat. So I try to be careful when I eat or drink water.

Water is a hot button topic in New York as it was always thought by many to have the best tasting water.  On the nyc.gov site, it’s reported to be that , “New York City drinking water is world-renowned for its quality.  To quote from the New York City’s 2012 Drinking Water Supply and Quality Report, (just click on the link to see full report).

“The sources of drinking water (both tap water and bottled water) include rivers, lakes, streams, ponds, reservoirs, springs, and wells. As water travels over the surface of the land or through the ground, it dissolves naturally occurring minerals and, in some cases, radioactive materials and can pick up substances resulting from the presence of animals or from human activities. Contaminants that may be present in source water include: microbial contaminants, inorganic contaminants, pesticides and herbicides, organic chemical contaminants, and radioactive contaminants.

In order to ensure that tap water is safe to drink, the New York State Department of Health (NYSDOH) and EPA prescribe regulations that limit the amount of certain contaminants in water provided by public water systems. The NYSDOH and the federal Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA) regulations establish limits for contaminants in bottled water which must provide the same protection for public health. ”

It sounds dire but we need water. We have to drink it in order to survive.

After all of that talk, I want to stress that the quality of water is safe to drink, but if you want to lose the fluoride and other chemicals you will have to further filter it. Many people are buying additional whole home filters for their water. For me it’s too extreme,  but for now I will continue to drink water with abandon.

I drink from the water fountains in the Park and I drink tap water in certain restaurants.  So far, I have not grown tentacles or died, but I still worry about the water quality. If you exercise or run you must drink water. Instead of reinventing the wheel I will just refer to the article on why you should drink water. Everyone knows that if flushes out your body and replenishes fluids in your body. Most people know from those water commercials that you should drink water instead of Sports drinks.

It’s just that simple. Never let yourself get thirsty during a race, but don’t slog down too much either. One word when hydrating, BALANCE.

Just life everything else in life it’s a balancing act. Next thought. I’m thirsty.

 

Leave a Reply

