Not fat, running shoes!

on
Marahon shoes
Marahon shoes (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I took it upon myself to write about some thing that is relevant to me and that I am passionate about.

I am a runner who is female, over 40 and over 150lbs. (or 68.04 kg). Normally I would never admit any of this except my gender, but I have to make my point. Since I started running in High School, I have noticed that running shoes were made for lighter runners, of which I was one.  As I got older, taller and heavier, I noticed that my running shoes are almost disposable.  I ran approximately 3 or more miles each time I went out for a run. I was constantly training for some race.

At my heaviest when I ran, I was 280 lbs. (127.01 kg).  I was running about 30 to 40 miles a week.  My heavy duty running shoes, which were supposedly made for heavy runners (I was never sure if the heavy was in footsteps or in weight) used to run down on me about ever 2 months.  I ran about 4 – 5 times a week on the average. I was buying running shoes like candy.  Some would last 3 or 4 months but that was all I could get out of them. My new strategy was to switch to cheaper shoes and buy a few to see if I could let them last longer.

This lasted up till today. I am looking for new running shoes and I am not happy about the choices. I can tell you that they do not make many shoes that suit the “heavy” runner. What do companies expect us to do? Do you want us to make our won? Trust me if I knew how I would at this point.

I am not overweight by any stretch of the imagination, but I need highly cushioned running shoes as I run on pavement or roadway. “Well, run on dirt,” some of you are probably saying. To which my reply is, “No.” “ Running on dirt makes my joints in my hips and other places hurt. “ Pavement or roadway is better and closer to my racing surface. This still leaves me with a problem. My running shoes are not made as sturdy as the older discontinued models.

Many years ago, I started with Nike running shoes, which seemed to be made for lighter weight runners, as my feet hurt after running.  I could not find a pair that would work for me and not fail during my 3 – 4 times a week running schedule. I moved on to New Balance shoes a few years after, but they were very heavy and clunky to run in and the lighter models were easy to break down. But what I have to say about them is that they held up during my marathon training and beyond.  The current versions of New Balance look sleeker so they may have the same issues that I have with my current pair of shoes.

Currently, I wear Adidas running shoes. They were great because they seemed to be sturdy and they lasted for about 8 months. This was great and it meant that I did not need to buy running shoes but once a year.  My current situation demands more cushioned shoes that are not minimal and will withstand the beating that I will give them during my training season. I bought a pair of running shoes that are not as robust as I thought they would be. I think they are fine for now, but in a month or two I will be changing them out for new ones. Even the tongue of the shoe, which formerly was cushioned, is not. This gives me a bad feeling about these shoes.

Possible solution to all of this is custom running shoes except that they will cost over $300.00. It may be worth it, if it will save my joints and feet so I can live to run another day.

I would give anything to design my own. Heavy Runners UNITE!

12 Comments Add yours

  1. klmv says:

    Trust me. Shoes are not only an issue for heavier runners (which you really aren’t!) but everybody with problem feet. :/ Currently I’m really liking Mizuno, but I’ve also run in Nike and Adidas.

    My mum likes the Adidas Supernova series and she’s around the same weight as you and runs 3-4 times a week. (In her sixties, no less!)

    1. adriadc says:

      Ah! Maybe that is the deal. I should try the Supernova series. Maybe that would be better for me. The jury is still out for my Adidas Marathon 10s but I may try the Boston ones in a store before I buy again.

  2. It’s so difficult to find running shoes! Plus the money spent on “trying” them out. I went through a number of pairs of running shoes before I settled into wearing Nike Free Runs. I recently had to buy a new pair, and I opted to get the same exact ones as I had. ( I was a little attached to them 😉 )

    1. adriadc says:

      Hey, I understand. I would have done the same thing, but my shoes were discontinued. I am glad you found something good. I will keep trying. 🙂

      1. Ohh heavens, not good! Best of luck 🙂

  3. Molto Vivace says:

    Thanks for the link to my blog. I’m still evaluating the Mizunos I bought, but like you I’m over 150 and I’m *almost* over 40 (just a couple months until 40…). My Morton’s Neuroma is flaring up and I have no idea if it’s the shoes or the fact that I tried wearing heels once or twice recently. I have, as someone said above, problem feet. I hadn’t considered it was my weight as much as my over-pronation and the need for some support and stability. I really like them though, and if I end up with something else for running longer distances I’ll still use these for shorter runs, cross training (much easier to do a bootcamp class in lighterweight shoes, I am finding!), etc.

    1. adriadc says:

      I am an over-pronator as well but I wear orthotics to correct it. I had to do that so I could focus on the shoe itself. If you can find the correct combination of comfort and cushioning, your injury may not bother you as much during the long run. I just wish the shoes were made heavier in construction and not weight. Let me know how those Mizuno’s work out.

  4. Hi you have a good site over here! Thanks for sharing this interesting stuff for us! If you keep up this great work I’ll visit your blog again. Thanks!

  5. contact-sex says:

    Hi there you have a fantastic site over here! Thanks for posting this interesting stuff for us! If you keep up this good work I’ll visit your website again. Thanks!

  6. May I simply say what a comfort to discover
    somebody that truly knows what they’re talking about on the net. You certainly understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More and more people must check this out and understand this side of your story. I was surprised you’re not more popular because you most
    certainly possess the gift.

  7. New Balance 587 is my shoe – a “clydesdale” shoe that comes in both narrow and wide widths.Even if you aren’t a clydesdale (200+ lbs for a male) this is a sturdy shoe that will last a long time.

    1. adriadc says:

      So true! I actually have a pair of those. I may try those out again.

Leave a Reply

