About Fear

on
English: Robert Plutchik's Wheel of Emotions
English: Robert Plutchik’s Wheel of Emotions (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I took a few days off to regroup after realizing that my life is transitioning like my employment status. Many things do changes when you are in between positions and life is very challenging. Sometimes fear can creep in as you continue into the unknown. But all is not lost. Fear is as easy to overtake as someone walking when you are on a motorcycle.

Many people have different reactions to fear. Some people cry, others get angry and there may even be something like the 7 phases like psychologist say you exhibit when someone finds out they are going to die. They go through shock, denial, pain,and so on, but the end result is that you have to work through the fear. Sometimes fear can be paralyzing, but it does not have to be that way.

The one time when I have a fear response is when I have a race. Most people feel happy or excited before a race, but sometimes you can get anxious or fearful.  For example, if you remember your first large marathon, you may have felt fearful just before the start. There are many people and it is disorienting when you line up in your corral.

To get over this fear, there are many mental exercises that you can do. I use visualizations to clear away the negative influences.

There are many techniques I have used  in the past to get over fear. I visualize running the race over in my head many times. Each time I run it the outcome is great. I never let the negative from either internal or external forces enter my head while I am doing the visualization. This includes other people around me who may be trying to trash talk. “Resistance is useless.”  I am going to run well no matter what you say.

The next thing I do if there is time I warm up and stretch. This gives me time to calm down by focusing on my running. Also, if  I am running with my phone, I will listen to inspirational music.  That usually makes me happy when every thing else fails. If all else fails you can try making friends at the starting line. Speaking with others will make you feel better. You are both in the same situation. No misery there! Lastly, I tell myself out loud that the race is going to be just another day in th park. I make the situation as normal as possible in my mind. Usually, this makes the race feel like it’s just any other run day. The object of all of this is to chase the fear away.

On more than one occasion, I have felt like many things that we do are governed by fear. Fear can make us do things we normally do not do or it can stop us from doing things we really want to do. Don’t feed that fear monster. Keep it happy because after all, you are running.

Leave a Reply

