Hot weather dessert

on

I need to quench my sweet tooth in the upcoming heat wave. So far I have succumbed to a muffin one morning and some 90 calorie Brownies. I need something more than that to make me feel happy but I do not want to diet my entire life for one piece of cake. So I’m going to have to make it myself.

A vanilla ice cream cone
A vanilla ice cream cone (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Ice cream is always too many calories so I need to try Ice milk, frozen yogurt and shaved ices recipes. All of the recipes are vanilla based except for the one chocolate and banana based variations. I do not use eggs in my ice cream as I like it as simple as possible.

Base ice cream recipe                                                           Frozen Yogurt recipe

1 cup regular Milk                                                                 1 cup non-fat milk

2 cups non-fat milk                                                              2 cups plain yogurt

1/3 cup stevia or agave syrup                                             3 tbsp stevia or agave syrup

dash of salt

additions:

For Vanilla add: 1 1/2 tbsp vanilla

For chocolate add: 1/2 cup cocoa powder or syrup or 1 oz dark chocolate

For Banana add: 1/2 cup of  blended banana and 1/4 cup cubed banana

For nuts flavors add: 1/2 cup nuts chopped

My personal favorite:

Banana walnut chip

Mixing instructions: In a blender mix ingredients blend lightly for about 1 minute then add to ice cream machine. If you do not have an ice cream machine blend for 3 minutes and freeze immediately in a glass container.

These wonderful concoctions can be carefully tweaked to your taste. If you like a stronger taste of fruit add a bit more but not too much as you may not get ice cream or frozen yogurt.

Shaved ice is better done by an ice shaving machine. Crushed ice is too coarse but you can use it if this is all you have.

Buy the shaved ice machine in any Department Store.

Shave ice flavors can be prepared in advanced or you can use store bought syrup. I prefer to make my own.

Add 2 teaspoons each of  agave and sugar in with fruit and blending them. Add water if too thick and strain out any seeds or large pieces of pulp. Strawberry and blueberry work best for these applications, but you can also use green tea or other low-calorie drinks.  I use milk to make it creamy.

My ice cream machine is happily making some green tea frozen yogurt, from green tea powder that I got from Chinatown. I think I will get some red bean to add to it next time too. As it goes into the 90 degrees temperature level in the next few days, I will be happily eating and keeping the pounds off.

Happy eating folks.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. diet program says:

    It’s actually a cool and helpful piece of information. I am glad that you just shared this useful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

