Contemplating Health

Food for Life distributes food on an internati...

As I sat on my bed this morning contemplating my day, I heard a News story about vegetarianism.  They said that by eating Vegetarian to lose weight, some people were in fact gaining weight, due to eating too many carbohydrates. The reasoning behind the weight gain was that people were eating Pasta and other high carbohydrate foods, like rice and beans, that have a great nutritional value, but have high starch contents. Starches turn into sugars as you know there by causing weight gain by causing you to have too much sugar in you system, that the insulin gives the signal to store instead of burn the excess sugar. In other words, not the desired effect.

I thought about the many Vegetarian dishes with pasta & sauce, rice dishes, potatoes that have no vegetables in them except tomato sauce or another sauce. Vegetarians need to eat more vegetables and so do people who eat meat. The big weight loss only happens when you eat foods with a lot of water, however those foods tend to not fill you up. Foods with fibre do fill you up and there are many vegetables and fruits with fibre.  Apples, bananas, green leafy vegetables, beans (be careful they are starchy), and nuts (these may be full of fatty oils).

The one thing I remember about my weight loss program is that  needed to cut the fat and sugars from my diet. I remember my nutritionist giving me the eat whole grains, more vegetables and salads and other helpful fibre foods.  This did help me to understand why my diet was not helping me lose the weight. I would have Bagels and cream cheese in the morning for breakfast and a cafe mocha non-fat. The calorie count on that meal was enough to put my diet out of whack. My temporary change before I revamped my diet was to eat a whole wheat bagel with light cream cheese and had an iced coffee with non-fat milk. Less fattening but still up there in calories for someone trying to lose weight. Eventually I substituted the bagel with eggs and no toast and a tomato or salsa and an iced green tea with no sugar or milk. That diet option and a little exercise went a long way. I lost the weight slow and steadily each week.

Another substitution that I made was what I ate during Lunch time. I used to eat a burger or chicken wings or whatever is in the international buffet. This was a high calorie option for lunch. I used to do the same for dinner. This time I added salad to my lunch and dinner as well as vegetables (without sauce).  No matter what I ate for lunch or dinner, I ate a large salad with it. No intense dressing on the salad just balsamic vinegar, hot sauce and a little oil.  I loved to eat some fish or chicken with my salad for lunch. Then  we added vegetables to my dinner options. All of the calorie counts went down so that I could get my diet under control.

The take away from this would be to keep watch of any diet that does not have a sound theory to it. You can do something to lose weight and end up getting the opposite effect for a clear reason. Though I never decided to do a vegetarian diet to lose weight, I can see how not thinking about your food options can have the opposite effect.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi there, I check your new stuff daily. Your writing
    style is witty, keep up the good work!

  2. elahan.com says:

    Hi there would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different web browsers
    and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then
    most. Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a honest price?

    Kudos, I appreciate it!

    1. adriadc says:

      I just use the WordPress interface. Nothing special. I would use Host gator or Web Hosting Hub. Try this website for a comparison http://www.wpbeginner.com/wordpress-hosting/

  3. whoah this blog is magnificent i like reading your posts. Keep up the good work!
    You know, many persons are looking round for this info, you can help them greatly.

  4. Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this website daily, this web page is actually fastidious and the viewers are really sharing nice thoughts.

  5. veloura says:

    I like what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever work
    and reporting! Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my own blogroll.

Leave a Reply

