Hard to Move Me

After a particularly hard training session, I felt particularly lazy. I just felt lethargic. I blamed it on allergy season. Then I realized that it was just me feeling demotivated. It seems hard to get up the daily motivational level to fight stasis.

Today I feel like owning my inner and outer Clydesdale. I am not a skinny 125 lb runner and I will probably never be that again. Sometimes I look at my fellow runners and realize that I am twice the size of them. most of the time it does not matter as I am in good shape.

I am not young either but I still dream of running the good race and fighting the good fight. I think that my issues of age and weight can be a positive. It catapults me to a new level each time I train. Being my age and still running is getting rarer and rarer as the years past. But I feel as if I can motivate myself by just being out there. I see other older runners and I nod and there are even older runners still just flying by and enjoying their run.

But where can I continue to get my motivation.

I am noticing that I am doing a lot of indoor training because allergy season is kicking my butt.
I decided to do the Nike training center exercises for running. Some of them are easily accomplished. The majority of the exercises are very difficult for me to do though they are at the ‘beginner’ level. The exercises in question are multiple or combination exercises like the mountain climber or the plank row or even the single leg dead lift.

English: an exercise of chest
English: an exercise of chest (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The mountain climber has you in a full push up position but you are lunging, then slow running as if you were running up a hill. It doesn’t sound hard but it is if you are not strong or unbalance. I do it anyway, but slower than the average person would. The plank row and single leg dead lift are just as awkward. They also have a balance element to them. Maybe that is the real issue (just saying). I do these the first go through then I do my other exercises that suit me more, like squats or dead lifts or push ups. Hey, you have to complete the cycle.

My motivation question remains unanswered. I have to fight daily to keep up my energy level up. All I need to do is just get dressed for working out and I am half way there. There other half is just sheer force of will. I need to do it or I feel like a couch potato. That feeling alone is depressing. Moving yourself out of that and into just enjoying your work out is as easy as thinking it.

That is how I do it. I work at the level I feel I am at that day. Some days it is super athlete other days it’s slow couch potato just making it happen. Either way I am still doing my exercise. And after a few weeks of consistently doing my regime, I am stepping it up more often then not.

Bringing your self to the next level makes it so much easier to get positive reinforcement during your workouts that, and apps that say “great job.” Whatever get you through it works.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I must thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this blog. I really hope to check out the same high-grade blog posts by you in the future as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own, personal site now 😉

    1. adriadc says:

      Thanks for saying so. GOod luck on your site. I’d love to read it.

Leave a Reply

