Running Comfortably

on

When I was younger, I was very young…and much faster as a runner. It was effortless and my body never disappointed me when I went out to run.  I used to go out for a run and just nail the speed after a brief warm-up. Though then I used to hate warming-up, I feel differently now.

As I learned to sprint at Summer Camp, I ran with the boys because the girls were slower. That was exhilarating but short lived. It was a fine for me to go out and run. Puberty came and went.  I became a slower runner. The more I aged, the slower I became.  Or maybe it was all in my head. My speed lasted until I was in my 30’s. I noticed that I could still with proper training get back to my former glory. Speed training was a difficult process to achieve, but it was not impossible to accomplish. It would only take a month or so. That too changed.

After 40, I had to add diet, weight training and frequent running into the mix to keep my fitness level. Consistency worked for me during my training. Consistency became my mantra. One thing I am adding now too is mental training and visualization. I have always needed a way to push myself so even if I am not exactly matching my speed. I can imagine that I’m running a 5-minute mile and just go faster than I was going, even if it was as slow as a 12-minute mile. Maintaining the pace was difficult but some speed is better than no speed. The more training I perform, the faster I become. Some speed is important to any athlete, as we tend to judge our progress on both speed and endurance. Endurance is the one thing that did not fade with age, but it does diminish with inconsistency. Endurance seems to return faster than speed and stays with you longer.

Running comfortably is another theory that I often use for my training.  As I get older. I learned that running around and huffy and puffing around the park is great for some, but it was horrible for me. When I ran slower around the park, at a deliberate speed I enjoyed the run. It made me happy. I felt great after the run and I wanted to do more. This was different from the usual wisdom that I obtained during my years as a runner. Running comfortably would be the theory that brought me back to fitness from the brink of being overweight. I started this type of work out one snowy, cold day in January and a few months of easy, progressively, faster running made me lose weight and run a 5K.  I carefully ran myself healthy.

Patience and consistency are my new mantras.

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Chasity says:

    I discovered your “Running Comfortably | The way I Run my life” page and noticed you could have a lot more traffic. I have found that the key to running a website is making sure the visitors you are getting are interested in your subject matter. There is a company that you can get traffic from and they let you try it for free. I managed to get over 300 targetted visitors to day to my website. Visit them today: http://nsru.net/fdse

  2. Hey! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My weblog looks weird when viewing from my iphone 4. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to fix this
    issue. If you have any recommendations, please share.
    Appreciate it!

    1. adriadc says:

      I just use the WordPress app. It has a mobile plug in. Sorry i could not be of more assistance.

  3. Miembro nuevo aquí – necesitan orientación profesional en este campo. Las sugerencias y consejos serán más apreciadas.

    1. adriadc says:

      Como puedo servirle?

  4. Hola, necesito un poco de información acerca de un tema relacionado. Yo no sé si sería capaz de ayudarme.

    1. adriadc says:

      Se puede explicar con mas detalle que usted necesita?

  5. Just checking on comments from other blog readers.

  6. Joslyn Luhn says:

    Estoy completamente de acuerdo con todo lo que ha dicho

  7. Is it realistically possible to study or take classes to prepare for courses in this field while having a full-time job?

    1. adriadc says:

      As for Exercise Science, it would be better to go to a University to study this. But if you are just interested in running, reading books, articles, time and experience will help you. Speaking with your fellow runners and possibly joining a local team can be the way to go if you really like running.

  8. Estoy muy disfrutado de este blog. Es un tema informativo. Esto me ayuda mucho para resolver algunos problemas. Su oportunidad es tan fantástico y el estilo de trabajo de manera rápida. Creo que puede ayudar a todos ustedes. Gracias.

  9. Neal Finni says:

    J’adore votre style d’écriture et la façon dont vous donne de l’information

  10. We strongly believe that we have an excellent opportunity to increase the number of visitors to your website through our white-hat SEO services. Please simply reply to this message and we will be delighted to send you further information.

  11. He quise escribir sobre algo como esto en uno de mis blogs y esto me dio una idea. Gracias.

  12. Youre so right. Im there with you. Your blog is surely worth a read if anyone comes across it. Im lucky I did because now Ive received a whole new view of this. I didnt realise that this issue was so important and so universal. You definitely put it in perspective for me.

Leave a Reply

