Weight loss – Rebooted!

A diet rich in soy and whey protein, found in ...
A diet rich in soy and whey protein, found in products such as soy milk and low-fat yogurt, has been shown to reduce breast cancer incidence in rats. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Originally, I lost 145 lbs. in 2011. I keep looking back at my self in 2010 and I wonder how I can keep from returning to where I was. I say to myself occasionally, “I don’t know who that chic was but she is not invited back.”

Yes, it sounds rude, but I really did not like myself at that weight and I feel healthier.  I can run now any time I want. I feel great. Thought I’m still a slow runner I can get better by the day. I feel so fortunate that I found my way to a healthier weight.

I’d see the Weight Watcher’s and Jennie Craig commercials, and then I tried to get motivated to join them. I have my own tools to lose the weight. I use food substitutions and alternate cooking methods to make my foods healthier and tastier than my old methods. First, I decided to figure out what I could eat. I realized that I needed to clean out my system but I did not want to do it in a harsh way. I used a diet that was promoted on the television, which was created by a doctor. It recommended that I eat more vegetables and fruits than starches like bread and pasta. I agreed that it was a great concept and that I would give it a try for a week to see how it went. Then I had my doctor give me a check up to see, if there were any health issues that needed to be addressed before starting my diet. I was fine so I started my life change.

I started revitalizing my breakfast. There were certain things that had to leave, the starches and the fats.

For example: I make Omelets with either eggbeaters or egg whites. I add vegetables and use flax seed oil to the pan. Lastly, there is salsa or hot sauce to top it off. No bread or potatoes are eaten with this meal.

Here is a sample day of food for me.  My morning starts with a boiled egg or egg white omelet with onions and pepper with salsa. I would not eat bread with this mean and I would have coffee with a small amount of non-fat milk or green tea straight.

By mid-morning, I would get hungry and have a yogurt (low-fat) and water or green tea or both.

At lunch, I ate a salad with turkey, chicken, or tuna (1 cup of protein), water and Green tea.

My afternoon snack was an orange, grapefruit, or apple slices.

My dinner was chicken, fish or turkey and vegetables with water and Green tea.

Generally, I was not too hungry during the day, but occasionally I would have an impulse to eat more food. If I felt that way, I would add more fruit or Yogurt to my regimen.

This is not the only way to eat but it really worked for me. The most important thing to do is to find what works for you and run with it. Life is too short to sit on the sidelines and watch.

One sad thing that I realized during my journey to weight nirvana was that I was a food addict. I had used food as a soothing agent and would end up in sudo food commas whenever I was distressed. Nothing severe that would make you think that I was gluttonous, but just enough to cause me to gain weight.

My mental state was not well either. My spiritual self was about the same due to many interactions with people that left me doubtful of my own power in my life. In that raw state, I decided to rebuild.

Food addict or not, I needed to keep eating no matter what. I had to take control of my food intake, mental state and spirituality.

Here is the food part of my take over. On a daily basis, I informed people that they should no longer concern themselves with my food intake; I would be changing my diet. Also, I asked them not to feed me, and mentioned that I would handle the food intake for myself.

There is so much that goes on with food and mealtime socially and culturally. I had to get past all of the gracious food giving and people eating and offering me foods I should not eat.

I call people who gave me food because the felt some sort of obligation or did not understand that my negative response was genuine diet busters or poor diet enablers. They are just like drug dealers at times in that they insist that you do inappropriate behavior because they are doing it. And to take that further some of them may be in denial of their own eating habits.

Now, I want to focus on the physical side of this diet. You do have to exercise and it should be enjoyable. I walked and ran for 20 – 30 minutes a day really helped with my weight loss. When I felt better, I added my weight training and even a personal trainer.  There are no limits on what you can do once you lose the first 20-30 lbs. But remember not everyone needs to release

Eating is fun and food is delicious, but it’s not a sport or an activity like baseball or running. I realize that many people gather around food and overeating can occur depending on how you view food. If you need to eat everything then you will overeat. If you nibble occasionally, there is a chance that you may not overeat. If you just eat when you are hungry, you will have a better relationship with food.

I think it could be done just as easily with other foods but these work for me. Use what works for you.

22 Comments Add yours

  1. Saffron Pure says:

    First of all I want to say terrific blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your head before writing. I have had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out there. I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips? Kudos!

    1. adriadc says:

      Hey Saffron,
      I just wanted to let you know that I meditate daily twice a day. I am going to write a short article on my meditation technique. It clears my head and lets me think long enough to write what I want to for that day. Also, I tend to start my writing on one day and finish it on another. SOme days are better than others. Keep writing.

  2. Cecil says:

    I every time used to study article in news papers but
    now as I am a user of internet thus from now I am using net for articles, thanks to web.

  3. This web site really has all of the info I wanted about
    this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  4. Susanna says:

    Hello, for all time i used to check web site posts here early in the dawn, as i love to find out
    more and more.

  5. Hello there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?

    There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Cheers

    1. adriadc says:

      Share away! Be my guest.

  6. beakearney says:

    Great job with the weight loss! I bet you got comments like “oh my, you are losing too much weight! Please stop!!” I get that ALL the time! I only lost like 35 lbs

    1. adriadc says:

      Actually no one recognizes me. I lost over 100 lbs in 1 year and 6 months. I wish you well in you maintenance my companion in this ongoing fight to be healthy and be who you want to be

  7. Hi, I do believe this is a great website. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to revisit once again since i have book-marked it. Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide other people.

  8. Heidi says:

    My brother recommended I may like this web site. He used to be totally right.
    This put up actually made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info!
    Thank you!

  9. I do consider all of the concepts you have introduced for your post. They are very convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are very brief for starters. Could you please extend them a bit from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

  10. mdcfnvviiv says:

    I visited a lot of website but I conceive this one holds something special in it.

  11. Alison Rieu says:

    Je suis sûr que beaucoup de gens seront d’accord avec cette pièce de travail. Je dirais que c’est un très bon travail sur ce sujet.

  12. Como novato, siempre estoy buscando en línea para los artículos que me puede beneficiar. Gracias

  13. Ohh! Ma questo è un bel post!

  14. I just want to tell you that I’m all new to blogging and absolutely savored your website. More than likely I’m planning to bookmark your site . You absolutely come with exceptional articles and reviews. Bless you for sharing your webpage.

  15. Por favor dígame que usted va a seguir con esto! Es tan excelente y tan importante. No puedo esperar a leer adicional de su parte. Me siento como si supieras lo sustancial y sé cómo hacer que la gente escuche lo que tienes que decir. Este blog es simplemente demasiado frío para ser perdido. Buen material, en serio. Por favor, POR FAVOR ¡Seguid así!

  16. Leuk poging op een dergelijk complex onderwerp. Gelieve verder posten.

  17. Hallo, Ik heb een lurker rond je blog al een paar maanden. Ik hou van dit artikel en je hele site! Vooruitblikkend naar het lezen meer!

  18. Wow. Parece que tenemos algunas personas inteligentes aquí!

  19. acne rosacea says:

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I’m hoping to give one thing back and help
    others such as you helped me.

Leave a Reply

